Pele’s health not as bad as first feared


Football icon Pele has announced through his Twitter page that he is “doing fine” and is not in intensive care despite earlier reports.

Pele, who is widely considered as the best footballer ever, won three World Cups in his career and scored 77 goals in 92 games for his native Brazil.

He tweeted: “Hello everyone, I want to take this opportunity to let you know that I am doing fine.

“I was not put into intensive care today, I was simply relocated to a special room within the hospital for privacy purposes only.

“While I appreciate all the visitors that came to see me, I really need to continue my treatment and recovery in peace.

“I am blessed to receive your love and support, and thank God this is nothing serious.

“I am looking forward to spending the upcoming holidays with my family, and will start the new year with renewed health, with many international trips already planned! Thank you!”

The 74-year-old is currently in a Sao Paolo hospital receiving treatment for a urinary infection.

Leave a Reply

